Plan Submission and Inspection Details

Procedures for Submitting Plans during Building Closure due to the COVID-19

Due to the fact that City facilities are currently closed to the public, the Planning & Community Development Department will be requesting that all site plans and building plans up to 10MB be submitted when possible in a pdf digital format. Any plans over that size can be sent to our City ShareFile and please submit your completed application to CDDapplication@suffolkva.us or PlanningEmail@suffolkva.us as applicable along with your payment. To request a link for digital plan submittal, please note the following contacts:

Planning Department ShareFile submittal:

David Hainley, Dir. of Planning & Community Development,  757-514-4005, dhainley@suffolkva.us

Catina Myrick, Administrative Analyst, 757-514-4061, cmyrick@suffolkva.us

Kevin Wyne, Current Planning Manager, 757-514-4065, kwyne@suffolkva.us

Amy L. Thurston, Principal Planner,  757-514-4066, athurston@suffolkva.us

Holly Steele, Planner I, 757-514-4075, hsteele@suffolkva.us

Community Development Division ShareFile submittal please contact:

Renee Bacon, Plan Reviewer,  757-514-4164, rbacon@suffolkva.us

Larry Dennis, Plan Reviewer, 757-514-4076, ldennis@suffolkva.us

Michael Robinson, Building Official, 757-514-4156, mrobinson@suffolkva.us

Lisa Barnette, Permit Manager, 757-514-4155, lbarnette@suffolkva.us

If you are unable to upload your plans or if you have additional questions, please contact the Planning Department at 757-514-4060 or the Community Development Division at 757-514-4150 to arrange for pickup at the City’s loading dock located on Henley Place across from the Suffolk Police Headquarters.  The applicant/consultant will be required to submit the finalized printed copies of final plats, site plans and preliminary plats that must be signed, pursuant to the process as outlined above.

INSPECTION DETAILS

To minimize possible exposure of COVID-19 to Suffolk building inspectors, contractors, and the public, the City of Suffolk “…will be conducting predominately outdoor, open air inspections, or inspections on new residential, commercial, institutional or industrial buildings which are not occupied, are vacant and provide a safe environment at the discretion of the inspector. Other inspections will be left to the inspectors’ discretion.” 

Please see the City’s 3rd party inspection policy for 3rd party inspection letters from architects or engineers. Please understand that picture, video and 3rd party inspections will only be accepted at the discretion of the Building Official.  These guidelines are subject to change at any time, based on the constantly evolving circumstances. cddapplication@suffolkva.us

Property Maintenance inspections will be limited to; emergency damage assessments for occupied structures, buildings which are not occupied and provide a safe environment for the inspector or exterior inspections which will occur during normal working hours.