Public Safety Committee

Public Safety Committee meetings are held on the 4th Wednesday of the month at 1:00 p.m. in the Suffolk City Hall 1st floor conference room. Suffolk City Hall is located at 442 W. Washington Street.

Upcoming meetings:

  • September 27, 2023
  • November 22, 2023



Michael D. Duman, Mayor, Chairperson 

Narendra Pleas, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Vice Chair 

Chief Michael Barakey, Suffolk Fire & Rescue, Board Member

Leroy Bennett, Council Member, Board Member

Chief Alfred S. Chandler, Suffolk Police Department, Board Member

Roger Fawcett, Council Member, Board Member

Dr. John Gordon, III, Suffolk Public Schools Superintendent, Board Member

Sheriff E.C. Harris, Suffolk Sheriff's Office, Board Member

Albert S. Moor II, P.E., City Manager, Board Member

Rebecca Powers, Assistant City Attorney, Board Member

William C. Smith, Superintendent, Western Tidewater Regional Jail, Board Member

Secretary: Deborah Minnick (757-514-4001)

Mission Statement:

The Public Safety Committee will strive to strengthen working relationships between City agencies, promote community engagement, and develop strategies to improve the safety of the City’s communities and neighborhoods, while serving as a formal channel of communication between City government and our citizens. 

Public Safety Public Portal

Coming soon.

This portal will provide members of the community the opportunity to notify public safety partners of public safety needs within their communities. Information shared on this portal will be shared with the Public Safety committee.

Button Table

Button Table

Button Table