Frequently Asked Questions About Driving Under the Influence
DUI 21 AND OLDER
According to Virginia State Code 18.2-266
Any person driving a motor vehicle is subject to arrest if their blood alcohol content is .08 or greater.
Q. Can I be charged with DUI if I have taken prescription medication?
A. Yes. According to Virginia State Code 18.2-266
If you take any substance that impairs your ability to operate a motor vehicle you are subject to arrest.
Q. Can I be arrested for "buzz" drinking and driving?
A. Yes. According to Virginia State Code 18.2-269
If any person 21 years old and older operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .05 but less than .08 you can still be arrested for DUI. The arresting officer would have to take into account, the driver's performance on the field sobriety test, witness statements and any other relative information.
Penalties for DUI: Suspended license for one year, attend alcohol and drug counseling, $250 fine, court cost and a jail sentence not to exceed 12 months.