In 2013, the Suffolk Police Department participated in the Click it or Ticket Campaign from May 20 through June 2nd. During this period, the Department dedicated over 450 hours to this initiative. The results are as follows:
|2013 Click It or Ticket Campaign
|Safety belt violations
|Child Restraint violations
|Pre-Enforcement Seatbelt Survey - Belt Usage
|Post-Enforcement Seatbelt Survey - Belt Usage
In an effort to reduce fatalities in 2011, the Suffolk Police Department conducted enhanced seat belt enforcement resulting in three times as many summonses for seat belt and child safety restraint violations. Seatbelt usage is one of the primary ways to reduce fatalities and serious injuries in motor vehicle crashes.
|Child Safety Restraints
Virginia Laws on Seatbelt Usage and Child Restraints
Seatbelt and Child Restraints
According to Virginia State Code 46.2-1094:
You MUST wear your seat belt if you are the driver of a vehicle or at least 18 years old and sitting in the front passenger seat of a vehicle. The driver and passenger are subject to a traffic summons.
Penalty: $25 civil penalty/no court cost.
Child Car Seats and Safety Belt Usage for all Persons under the Age of 17
According to Virginia State Code 46.2-1095
All passengers up to the age of eight must be in an approved car seat or booster seat. Everyone from the age of 9-17 must wear their seatbelt whether in the front seat or not. The driver will be issued a ticket for each passenger in violation of this state code.
Penalty: $50 civil penalty/ no court cost.