Cemeteries are open from dawn until dusk.
For help finding burial locations at either of our cemeteries, please utilize the search option below or visit WebCemeteries.
Cemetery Rules & Regulations
To maintain the beauty and serenity of our City Cemeteries, we require the following rules and regulations to be followed:
- Please respect the cemeteries.
- All flowers should be placed in memorial vases. Glass vases are not permitted.
- Please do not park on the grass.
- Only service animals are permitted in the cemeteries.
- Fresh flowers will be removed from graves on the seventh day following the funeral service, or when the flowers have wilted.
- Only temporary grave markers issued by funeral homes are permitted.
- Toys, cans, glass items, cards and/or alcoholic beverages may not be left on any grave or the cemetery grounds. Such items will be discarded.
- Winter holiday decorations should be removed no later than February 1, of the following year. Decorations left after February 1, will be removed and discarded.
The City of Suffolk Parks & Recreation Department is not responsible for any items lost or damaged in the cemeteries.
Cedar Hill Cemetery (102 Mahan Street)
Originally constructed as Green Hill Cemetery, this 32-acre expanse of hilly terrain and cedar trees is on the National Historic Register.
Cedar Hill Cemetery is located on the corner of North Main Street and Constance Road and is the final resting place for many Confederate Generals and soldiers, as well as officers and soldiers from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War. The Mahan Street entrance houses monuments and a cannon that serve as a memorial to the Veterans from the various wars.
Cedar Hill is also the burial location for many prominent citizens of Suffolk, including former City and State officials such as former Governor Mills Godwin. Cedar Hill is home to several family mausoleums and very unique tombstones and structures.
Cedar Hill has the City’s first scatter garden which allows the scattering of ashes in place of a burial. This scatter garden is surrounded by a wrought-iron fence, benches and a memorial board located at each end.
Holly Lawn Cemetery (1525 N Main Street)
Holly Lawn was created through an ordinance adopted by Suffolk City Council on October 2, 1949. The 30-acre, flat terrain, City-owned property was formerly known as the City Farm. The City's expansion in February of 2008 opened up 1,500 plots for sale. There are more sections planned that will open up approximately 2,500 additional plots.
Holly Lawn is the newest of the two City-owned cemeteries and is surrounded by water and woods on two sides and North Main Street and Lake Meade Park on the other sides. There is a walking trail located behind the cemetery which allows visitors to experience the beautiful nature of the area while visiting the final resting place of their families and friends.
For more information, contact:
Franco Britt, Superintendent of Cemeteries, at (757) 514-7632 or email@example.com
Denise Smith, Assistant Superintendent of Cemeteries, (757) 514-4501 or firstname.lastname@example.org